Our goal is to make our communities better through leadership, partnership and service. Founded in 1917, Altrusa is relevant to many civic-minded people who are interested in creating better communities. Last year, Altrusans proudly gave over a million volunteer hours around the world, including clubs in the United States, Puerto Rico, Canada, England, Bermuda, Ireland, India, Scotland, New Zealand and Russia.

Several decades ago, Altrusa decided to institute literacy as an area of focus for the organization; since then, service areas have expanded to include HIV/AIDS and disaster relief. During our last biennium, Altrusans assisted in relief efforts for the Port-au-Prince, Haiti and Christchurch, New Zealand earthquakes, as well as the Tsunami in Japan. Most importantly, Altrusans give their time and resources in areas that are deemed most important in their local communities.

The Altrusa story is evolving every day through club accomplishments. When you visit any Altrusa club, you will see leadership and service in action.

Indroducing the 2019-20 Board

(left to right) Val Higgs-Co-Secretary, Trish Schlichting-Co-President Elect, Margee Neer-Co-President Elect, Tina Cocherell-Asst Treasurer, Tiffany Lau-President, Sharon Bennett-Co-Secretary, Andra Gleinn-Treasurer, Sherri Lisius-Director, Emma Lantz-Director, Gail Swain-Immediate Past President. Not pictured: Diana Soltis-Correspondence Secretary, Vicka Stout-Director.